The relationship between Pudelpointers and English Pointers

General Sporting Dog Discussion

Moderator: Moderator Pack

The relationship between Pudelpointers and English Pointers

Postby Highlander » Sun May 19, 2019 1:24 pm

Hello folks,

I fallow a few pudelpointer owners on Instagram and keep seeing very handsome dogs and some very cute puppies. Although I can’t tell apart a pp from a brown dd I still find this breed attractive. (Maybe someone will help me out here with this issue)

Since I have zero experience with pp and know almost nothing about the breed’s nature and character I have decided to conduct a research and find out more about it.

So... as the breed name suggests it is descended from pointers and puddle. This part I understand, but what I didn’t get is that, apparently to this day English pointers are still bred with modern pps. I was surprised.

My question are of these sort.
what grounds is done on?
Meaning who and how do they decide when and why to bring the English pointer genes back to already established breed ?
What club is in charge to carry out this cross breeding?
What is the status of those mixed pups?
What type of the English pointer is used? With what traits and qualities? Field trail stock vs hunting stock?
If happened that I bought a pup whose father was a half pointer or even a pure English pointer, am will I be able to call my pup pp and participate in NAVDA trails ?

I was unable to find answers to these and similar questions. As my interest in this breed grows I would like to know what pure breed pp and what is not.

I hope to have really a insightful conversation. Since this dog has got quite a unique breeding history I am looking forward to hear from the experienced owners.

Best,
H.
The hunter from highlands
Highlander
Seasoned
Seasoned

Re: The relationship between Pudelpointers and English Point

Postby bwjohn » Sun May 19, 2019 1:33 pm