No interest in bumpers

North American Versatile Hunting Dog Association Tests

Moderator: Moderator Pack

No interest in bumpers

Postby EED » Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:09 pm

All, I am a newbie trainer I posted this issue in the general discussion, but thought maybe this is where it belongs.

I have two GWP pups that are not quite 10 months old. We have been slowly working toward the NA test in late August.

A few weeks ago I had concerns bc they would not enter the water after a bumper. We were at a new lake, and I originally thought that maybe the water was the issue. I have since had them in several different bodies of water and I'm pretty certain they are not afraid of the water. It seems that the main issue is that they have little interest in bumpers. They will eagerly retrieve a clipped wing pigeon from the water. Any suggestions on how to get them interested in bumpers?

Thanks
EED
Pup
Pup

Re: No interest in bumpers

Postby AverageGuy » Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:45 pm

in the test you can also toss a rock into the water to entice the pup to enter and swim. I have heard of some teaching the pup by tossing a rock and when it chases into the water after the splash they toss it a bird or a treat while it is in the water immediately following. The pup learns to jump in expecting a bird or a treat. You will not be able to toss the treat in the test but for some pups it will work good enough tossing the rock a couple of times in a row to get a good score in the test. Its a test trick for sure but perhaps it beats going into the test doomed to get a prize III due to having to use a bird in the alternative.
AverageGuy
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby Duckdon » Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:01 am

Do they retrieve and deliver bumpers on land? If not, they should and that is where I would start.
Don and Crew
Forgive me for being arrogant. I own 4 Drahthaars.
Tundramoor Drahthaar Kennel
Don Lietzau, Chugiak, Alaska
Duckdon
Champion Poster
Champion Poster